Cowboy Slumber

Cowboy Slumber
 
The chill desert wind couldn’t penetrate the warmth of my bag. I was alone,
curled against the sand with dirt beneath my nails, my belly full of rabbit meat.
Ghosts howled from the shadows of the mountains. The sky was a crystal blanket
hugging the moon chandelier. It all sparkled and shimmered and fell in upon itself,
swallowing me softly in holy darkness. The only earthly glow was the orange glimmer
from the coals at my feet. I fell asleep with my head in the sand,
strings of meat still tucked in my teeth.

 

Written in Los Alamitos, CA. 2012

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Cowboy Slumber

  1. Very good. Feel like I’m there. Keep writing!

  2. cris robin

    The only earthly glow was the orange glimmer
    from the coals at my feet. I fell asleep with my head in the sand,
    strings of meat still tucked in my teeth.

    love this.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

