An announcement. . .

An announcement. . .

This blog is a bit out of date.

‘Tis already winter, and I left in spring. Traveling took me around America in a giant rhombus in which I met 8 new states (8 more to go), shook a thousand hands, and got some scars. Montana was the most delicious new state.

It shouldn’t be a surprise that I wrote every day. Clearly, I didn’t publish much here on OWP past getting to Hollywood.

Montana

Montana

But I have been working on a project:

 During the last months of my voyage back across the country from Oregon to Cape Cod, I    schemed ideas for a small book. In fact a few of the ‘Makings of a Book. . .’ posts on OWP are the very first drafts of some of the works in this book. However, it’s far different than ‘Makings. .’

Currently in South Carolina for the holidays, I’ve been hiding in a room at a desk with journals and papers and letters and a computer writing, rewriting and editing this book.

It has a name, but I’ll save that for later.

It’s a collection of short stories and poetry and, if read in order, may or may not tell a small story. Each piece is a different glimpse into the life of a traveler. The character is not necessarily me, however:

DSC03193

California

Think of it as autobiographical fiction: I travel, and I write. I understand traveling and how it works and feels and smells, so I write about that. But in any given story, six things could happen during one story that, in real life, happened over a span of months or not at all.

I’ve been experimenting with a lot of fiction lately.

The main reason I’m doing this is to polish a work of writing as a young writer. And to have a tangible book to look at and smell. I’ve kept my writing mostly to myself over the years, and I think it’s time to share it, some of it. . .  in a more intimate way than a blog.

I’m mentioning this because I want your help:

For many reasons, I’ve decided to independently publish this book.

Since I’m young, still learning what it is to write, but think I can produce something worth reading/understanding, I want to create it myself, first. I think I can do a good job.

It’s a relatively expensive endeavor to write, edit, proofread, produce, design a cover and interior for a polished book with all the authenticity of a book you’d find in a regular library.

This doesn’t mean I’ll never experiment working with publishing companies in the future, I just want to finish something on my own (with a small team of editors, designers, and other artists.)

DSC03008

California

So, if you enjoy my writing, this is your heads up. A fundraising campaign will start soon.

For now, hang tight.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “An announcement. . .

  1. montana is one of my favorites, too.

    awesome to hear how everything is going – can’t wait to see how the writing develops.

    and have a blast in NZ!! :)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

